FamilySearch Volunteers Aim to Index 5 Million Names in 24 Hours

  • July 1, 2012–July 2, 2012
Date
July 1, 2012–July 2, 2012

Beginning at 6:00 p.m. (MDT) on July 1, FamilySearch volunteers around the world will begin to index and arbitrate records, with the goal of completing five million records in 24 hours. Everyone is invited to participate.

Article Highlights

  • FamilySearch “5 Million Record” Day
  • July 1, 2012, at 00:00 Coordinated Universal Time (UTC/GMT)
  • The goal of this one-day event is to have volunteers around the world index and arbitrate five million names or records in 24 hours.

FamilySearch, the Church’s genealogy organization, is inviting individuals around the world to participate in an unprecedented effort to index and arbitrate an unheard-of five million names or records in just 24 hours, beginning at 6:00 p.m. Mountain Daylight Time (MDT) on Sunday, July 1, 2012.

On Sunday, July 1, (or July 2, depending on time zone), thousands of indexers can begin to submit their batches to help reach the goal of five million records. Regular contributors are encouraged to invite others to participate.

FamilySearch representatives said they hoped the one-day event would help highlight what many people working together can accomplish.

Mike Judson, FamilySearch indexing workforce development manager, said, “Every day, people are connected to their ancestors because of the contributions of thousands of FamilySearch indexers and arbitrators. This one-day event will demonstrate what can be achieved in a single day. From just this one day's effort, tens of millions of people will possibly be helped to find their ancestors.”

Those interested in participating can prepare by downloading indexing batches before the event begins and then working on the batches offline, to avoid the rush. To begin, visit indexing.familysearch.org.

Below, find start times for various locations:

Anchorage, Alaska, USA: July 1, 4:00 p.m.

Buenos Aires, Argentina: July 1, 9:00 p.m.

Chicago, Illinois, USA: July 1, 7:00 p.m.

Honolulu, Hawaii, USA: July 1, 2:00 p.m.

Johannesburg, South Africa: July 2, 2:00 a.m.

Kyiv, Ukraine: July 2, 3:00 a.m.

London, England: July 2, 1:00 a.m.

Los Angeles, California, USA: July 1, 5:00 p.m.

Moscow, Russia: July 2, 4:00 a.m.

New York City, New York, USA: July 1, 8:00 p.m.

Ottawa, Canada: July 1, 8:00 p.m.

Paris, France; Berlin, Germany; Rome, Italy; Brussels, Belgium; Warsaw, Poland; and Stockholm, Sweden: July 2, 2:00 a.m.

Phoenix, Arizona, USA: July 1, 5:00 p.m.

Salt Lake City, Utah, USA: July 1, 6:00 p.m.

Santiago, Chile: July 1, 8:00 p.m.

São Paulo, Brazil: July 1, 9:00 p.m.

Sydney, Australia: July 2, 10:00 a.m.

For more information or to read indexing tips, visit the FamilySearch Indexing “5 Million Record” Day Facebook page.