Bloemfontein District in South Africa Becomes a Stake

  Elder Randall Knudsen

  • 24 May 2013

The newly formed stake presidency from left to right: Thabiso Isaac Ntsomotho (first counselor), Gerrit Grobler (president), Newton Thamsanqa Nyatshoba (second counselor)

The members of Bloemfontein District in South Africa gathered for their district conference on May 19, 2013, with great anticipation and excitement to create their first stake conference. The building was filled to capacity. Elder Carl B. Cook, First Counselor in the Africa Southeast Area Presidency, presided over the conference assisted by Elder Jacques A. Van Reenen of the Area Seventy.

Elder Van Reenen announced that with the creation of the stake, everyone holding a district calling was automatically released. The branch presidencies of the five units that became wards were released, and bishops would be called. In addition, Elder Van Reenen presented the names of the new stake presidency for the Bloemfontein South Africa Stake, and they were sustained as follows: president: Gerrit Grobler; first counselor: Thabiso Isaac Ntsomotho; and second counselor: Newton Thamsanqa Nyatshoba

Brother Kamohelo Godfrey Mejaele was called as a stake clerk and Brother Tiisetso Stephen Motsamai as a stake executive secretary.

The members were commended on following the directions of their leaders by increasing their faith and keeping the commandments. They were encouraged to catch the “Missionary Wave” and prepare to go and serve missions so they would be carrying their responsibilities as a new stake. They were also encouraged to attend the temple and to go forward and claim their blessings through obedience.

The following units are now part of the new Bloemfontein South Africa Stake: Blomanda Ward, Bloemfontein Ward, Kimberley Ward, Rocklands Ward, Thaba Nchu Ward, Botshabelo Branch, Leribe Branch, Maseru Branch, Masianokeng Branch, Phahameng Branch, and Welkom Branch.

The Bethlehem Branch and the Phuthaditjhaba Branch were transferred from the Bloemfontein South Africa District and became mission branches in the South Africa Durban Mission.