Washington D.C.
  • Physical Address

    • 9900 Stoneybrook Drive
    • Kensington, Maryland 20895-3199
    • United States of America
    Driving directions

    Mailing Address

    • Same

    Telephone

    • (1) 301-588-0650
    • Facsimile: (1) 301-588-0653
  • Endowment Sessions

    MondayClosed
    Tuesday–FridayEvery hour from 8:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.; every 30 minutes from 6:30 to 8:00 p.m.
    SaturdayEvery 30 minutes from 7:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m.
     

    Baptistry  

    Baptistry Time
    The Baptistry is open during normal operating hours. Please call for an appointment.
    Tuesday–Friday9:00 a.m.8:00 p.m.
    Saturday8:00 a.m.8:00 p.m.
     
    Family Priority Time
    Tuesday, Thursday10:30 a.m.; 1:30, 4:30 p.m.
    Wednesday, Friday10:30 a.m., 1:30 p.m.
    Saturday4:30 p.m.
     

    Closures

     

  • Special Sessions

    American Sign Language (ASL): 3rd Friday, 7:30 p.m.
    Spanish: Saturday, 10:30 a.m. and 6:45 p.m.
    Additional language sessions available by appointment.

  • Baptisms

    See above for official Baptistry information.

    Other Ordinances

    Other ordinances can be scheduled by appointment. Please contact the temple for available dates and times.

  • Groups

    For information regarding group visits or live ordinances see
    Additional Info.

    • Maintenance Dates
    • Tuesday, February 16 – Monday, February 29
    • Monday, August 15 – Monday, October 31
    • Other Dates
    • Friday, January 1
    • Saturday, March 26 (last session at 12:00 noon)
    • Saturday, April 2
    • Wednesday, November 23 (last session at 12:00 noon)
    • Thursday, November 24
    • Saturday, December 24
    • Saturday, December 31 (last session at 12:00 noon)
    • Special Openings
    • Holiday Schedule: 7:00 a.m. – 12:00 noon
    • Monday, January 18
    • Monday, February 15
    • Monday, May 30
  • Living Ordinances

    Please make an appointment with the temple before coming for living endowments, marriages, or sealings.

  • Family Name Cards

    Ordinances for family names must be done in proper sequence. If you wish to complete an endowment for a family name, allow sufficient time to complete the initiatory ordinances before the endowment session. If you are going to do the baptism the same day, you will need to allow even more time. 

    Learn how to prepare family names for the temple.

  • Group Attendance

    Please contact the temple to schedule a group visit.

  • Services Available

    • Cafeteria vending
    • Clothing service available
  • Milestones

    Nov 15, 1968
    Temple Announced
    Dec 7, 1968
    Groundbreaking
    Sep 17, 1974
    Open House Start Date
    Nov 2, 1974
    Open House End Date
    Nov 19, 1974
    Dedication Date