Changes in the Genealogical Society

Elder Theodore M. Burton, Assistant to the Council of the Twelve, has been named president of the Genealogical Society. He succeeds Elder Howard W. Hunter of the Council of the Twelve, who will continue to serve as a member of the society’s board of trustees.

Elder Theodore M. Burton

Elder Theodore M. Burton

Elder Mark E. Petersen of the Council of the Twelve will also serve on the board, succeeding President Harold B. Lee.

The change in the presidency of the society reflects the policy of the First Presidency to relieve members of the Twelve of detailed administration in the organizations of the Church.

Hospital Services Consolidated

Operation of the fourteen Church hospitals has been consolidated into “a single cohesive and smoothly functioning unit,” according to Presiding Bishop Victor L. Brown.

The Health Services Corporation has also announced the appointment of three administrative assistants, in a move to strengthen the hospital system. Kenneth E. Knapp, former administrator of the McKay-Dee Hospital in Ogden, Utah, has been appointed associate commissioner of health services. Douglas Carpenter, who was assistant coordinator of the Intermountain Regional Medical Program, has been named assistant commissioner in charge of program development, while Derek Harland, former coordinator of the Health Services Corporation personnel office, is now assistant commissioner for personnel.

The new appointees will assist Dr. James O. Mason, commissioner, and the executive staff of the corporation in administering the health program of the Church throughout the world.

General Secretary of the Aaronic Priesthood Appointed

The appointment of a general secretary of the Aaronic Priesthood was recently announced by the Presiding Bishopric. Sherman M. Crump, president of the Butler Stake, has been called to the new position. “My major assignment is to coordinate the programs for young men and women between twelve and nineteen,” said President Crump. “The Presiding Bishopric has established a goal for all young people to qualify for membership in an eternal family, which means that our major focus will be to help youth prepare for eternal marriage, to teach them to honor the priesthood and participate in its functions, and to prepare them for the joys of parenthood.”

[photo] Sherman M. Crump

First French-Speaking Stake Organized

As the number of stakes in the Church soars toward 600, it is of interest to note the recent organization of the 575th stake, Tahiti Stake, which represents the first French-speaking stake. The creation of the stake comes 128 years following the landing of three missionaries at Tubuai, some 355 miles south of Tahiti, on April 30, 1844.

The stake’s membership of 2,738 includes five wards and five branches. Called to serve as stake president was Raituia Tehina Tapu, captain of the Church-owned boat; first counselor is Raymond Rene Baudin, director of Papeete Primary School; and second counselor is Jacques Hattnieu Caumet, elementary school teacher.

Presently the non-English-speaking stakes of the Church include thirteen Spanish, five German, five Tongan, four Samoan, four Portuguese, one Dutch, one Japanese, and one French. In addition, over half a dozen other stakes use extensively both English and a non-English language. There are now seventy-five stakes outside the continental United States.