area leadership assignments

The First Presidency has announced changes in area leadership assignments, effective on August 1, 2016. All members of Area Presidencies are General Authority Seventies.

The Seventy are called by revelation, under the direction of the First Presidency, to assist the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles in their ministry throughout the world.

During Christ’s mortal ministry, He called the Seventy, instructed them in a manner similar to the Twelve Apostles, and sent them out “before his face,” explaining that those who heard their voices would hear His voice (see Matthew 10:1, 16–17; Luke 10).

In a revelation given to the Prophet Joseph Smith in 1835, the Lord revealed, among other things, “the order of the Seventy, that they should have seven presidents to preside over them, chosen out of the number of the seventy” (D&C 107:93).

Presidency of the Seventy

Elder L. Whitney Clayton

L. Whitney Clayton

Assists in all areas

Elder Donald L. Hallstrom

Donald L. Hallstrom

North America Northwest

North America West

Elder Richard J. Maynes

Richard J. Maynes

North America Southeast

Elder Craig C. Christensen

Craig C. Christensen

Utah North

Utah Salt Lake City

Utah South

Elder Ulisses Soares

Ulisses Soares


North America Central

Elder Lynn G. Robbins

Lynn G. Robbins

North America Southwest

Elder Gerrit W. Gong

Gerrit W. Gong

North America Northeast

Africa Southeast

Elder Kevin S. Hamilton

Kevin S. Hamilton


Elder Stanley G. Ellis

Stanley G. Ellis

First Counselor

Elder S. Mark Palmer

S. Mark Palmer

Second Counselor

Africa West

Elder Terence M. Vinson

Terence M. Vinson


Elder Marcus B. Nash

Marcus B. Nash

First Counselor

Elder Vern P. Stanfill

Vern P. Stanfill

Second Counselor


Elder Randy D. Funk

Randy D. Funk


Elder Chi Hong (Sam) Wong

Chi Hong (Sam) Wong

First Counselor

Elder David F. Evans

David F. Evans

Second Counselor

Asia North

Elder Scott D. Whiting

Scott D. Whiting


Elder Kazuhiko Yamashita

Kazuhiko Yamashita

First Counselor

Elder Yoon Hwan Choi

Yoon Hwan Choi

Second Counselor


Elder Claudio R. M. Costa

Claudio R. M. Costa


Elder Marcos A. Aidukaitis

Marcos A. Aidukaitis

First Counselor

Elder W. Mark Bassett

W. Mark Bassett

Second Counselor


Elder Walter F. González

Walter F. González


Elder Claudio D. Zivic

Claudio D. Zivic

First Counselor

Elder Hugo E. Martinez

Hugo E. Martinez

Second Counselor

Central America

Elder Kevin R. Duncan

Kevin R. Duncan


Elder Adrián Ochoa

Adrián Ochoa

First Counselor

Elder Jose L. Alonso

Jose L. Alonso

Second Counselor


Elder Patrick Kearon

Patrick Kearon


Elder Paul V. Johnson

Paul V. Johnson

First Counselor

Elder Gary B. Sabin

Gary B. Sabin

Second Counselor

Europe East

Elder Bruce D. Porter

Bruce D. Porter


Elder James B. Martino

James B. Martino

First Counselor

Elder Larry S. Kacher

Larry S. Kacher

Second Counselor


Elder Paul B. Pieper

Paul B. Pieper


Elder Arnulfo Valenzuela

Arnulfo Valenzuela

First Counselor

Elder Rafael E. Pino

Rafael E. Pino

Second Counselor

Middle East/Africa North

Administered from Church headquarters

Elder Larry R. Lawrence

Larry R. Lawrence

Elder Wilford W. Andersen

Wilford W. Andersen


Elder O. Vincent Haleck

O. Vincent Haleck


Elder S. Gifford Nielsen

S. Gifford Nielsen

First Counselor

Elder Craig A. Cardon

Craig A. Cardon

Second Counselor


Elder Shayne M. Bowen

Shayne M. Bowen


Elder Allen D. Haynie

Allen D. Haynie

First Counselor

Elder Evan A. Schmutz

Evan A. Schmutz

Second Counselor

South America Northwest

Elder Carlos A. Godoy

Carlos A. Godoy


Elder Lawrence E. Corbridge

Lawrence E. Corbridge

First Counselor

Elder Hugo Montoya

Hugo Montoya

Second Counselor

South America South

Elder José A. Teixeira

José A. Teixeira


Elder Allan F. Packer

Allan F. Packer

First Counselor

Elder Mark A. Bragg

Mark A. Bragg

Second Counselor