Land of the Morning Calm

Print Share

    The Flag of South Korea

    The flag of the Republic of South Korea is called the tae-gook-gi, and it has a deep meaning. The flag was designed and made by Yung-hyo Pak in August 1882:

    White background = peace and security

    Red and blue circle = purity and creation

    Three lines = east, sky, heaven, spring, and benevolence

    Four lines = south, autumn, sun, courtesy, and separation

    Five lines = north, winter, unity, moon, and wisdom

    Six lines = west, summer, ground or earth, and justice

    Lines altogether = eternity, brightness, and prosperity.