Instructions: Mount page 24 on lightweight cardboard, then cut out prophets and identifications along solid lines. You can match the prophet with his proper identification, or you can glue the identification on the back of each prophet and then try to identify him.

Joseph Smith, Jr.

1 Joseph Smith, Jr. (1805–1844)

First President of Church

Leader of Restoration

Martyred for his faith

Brigham Young

2 Brigham Young (1801–1877)

Second President of Church

Led Saints to Salt Lake Valley

Established colonies throughout West

John Taylor

3 John Taylor (1808–1887)

Third President of Church

Called “Defender of Faith”

Wilford Woodruff

4 Wilford Woodruff (1807–1898)

Fourth President of Church

Issued Manifesto ending practice of plural marriage

Dedicated Salt Lake Temple

Lorenzo Snow

5 Lorenzo Snow (1814–1901)

Fifth President of Church

Reemphasized law of tithing

Joseph F. Smith

6 Joseph F. Smith (1838–1918)

Sixth President of Church

Established family home evening program

Received section 138 of D&C

Heber J. Grant

7 Heber J. Grant (1856–1945)

Seventh President of Church

Taught persistence in overcoming weaknesses and in developing talents

George Albert Smith

8 George Albert Smith (1870–1951)

Eighth President of Church

Taught that loving and helping others is secret to happy life

David O. McKay

9 David O. McKay (1873–1970)

Ninth President of Church

Believed that “no success can compensate for failure in the home”

Joseph Fielding Smith

10 Joseph Fielding Smith (1876–1972)

Tenth President of Church

Emphasized line of priesthood authority

Directed formation of Ensign, New Era, Friend

Harold B. Lee

11 Harold B. Lee (1899–1973)

Eleventh President of Church

Made great contribution to Church Welfare Program and Church Correlation

Spencer W. Kimball

12 Spencer W. Kimball (1895–1985)

Twelfth President of Church

Asked members to lengthen stride in service, missionary work, temple building

Ezra Taft Benson

13 Ezra Taft Benson (1899– )

Thirteenth President of Church

Emphasizes the importance of Book of Mormon, patriotism, and family values