New Priesthood Unit Formed

Print Share

    Organization of a Melchizedek Priesthood General Committee has been announced by the First Presidency and 22 committee members have been named.

    Designed to serve as a planning and evaluating unit, the committee will review materials used in programs like home teaching, family home evening, programs for single adults and materials involved in Melchizedek Priesthood quorum administration and curriculum.

    The committee will review the programs and offer recommendations on adjustments to be considered, if necessary.

    The Melchizedek Priesthood General Committee is part of the Priesthood Department, which is directed by the Priesthood Executive Committee, composed of Elder Gordon B. Hinckley as chairman, Elder Marvin J. Ashton, and Elder L. Tom Perry, all members of the Council of the Twelve. Elder Robert D. Hales of the First Quorum of the Seventy serves as executive director of the Priesthood Department.

    Elder James A. Cullimore of the First Quorum of the Seventy, who is managing director of the adult division of the Priesthood Department, will serve as committee chairman. Elder Richard G. Scott, recently called to the First Quorum of the Seventy, will assist Elder Cullimore.

    Combining the functions of the Melchizedek Priesthood advisory committee and the MPMIA general board, the committee is divided into four subcommittees: quorum administration; curriculum and quorum training; single adults and activities; home teaching and family home evening.

    The committee staff, composed of B. Lloyd Poelman, Larry E. Dahl, and Rex W. Allred, will coordinate the activities of the subcommittees. The chairmen of the subcommittees include: Royden J. Glade, quorum administration subcommittee; Dan Workman, curriculum and quorum training; Homer S. Ellsworth, single adults and activities; Hugh W. Pinnock, home teaching and family home evening subcommittees.