A Period of Expansion

Doctrine and Covenants and Church History Student Study Guide, (2005), 183

From 1898 to 1951, four prophets presided over an expanding Church—Lorenzo Snow, Joseph F. Smith, Heber J. Grant, and George Albert Smith. “These Presidents witnessed the transition from horse and buggy transportation to travel by [air]. Two world wars and a global depression challenged the Saints. During this time, nine temples were built. In 1901, there were approximately 300,000 members in 50 stakes” (Our Heritage,105). By 1951 the Church had over 1,111,000 members gathered in 180 stakes throughout the world.