Leviticus 2–7: Other Offerings

Old Testament Seminary Student Study Guide, (2002), 57

Leviticus 2–7 describes in detail the different sacrifices the Israelites were to offer. Leviticus 2 describes the meat, or meal, offering. Leviticus 3 describes the peace offering. Leviticus 4–5 describes the different kinds of sin and trespass offerings. Leviticus 6–7 contains additional instructions concerning all of the various offerings. The Bible Dictionary explains these sacrifices and their relationship to each other (see “sacrifices,” pp. 765–67).

Studying the Scriptures

Do activity A as you study Leviticus 2–7.

Activity A iconThe Law of Sacrifice

The sacrifices described in Leviticus are no longer required of Church members today. The principles taught by the sacrifices, however, are still true and must be a part of our lives if we want to be right with God.

  1. 1.

    Read 3 Nephi 9:19–20 and write what the Lord said we sacrifice instead of animals.

  2. 2.

    Give examples of how you think you can do what Jesus commanded in 3 Nephi 9:19–20.