Called to Serve

Listen Download Print Share

The 168th Annual General Conference brought leadership changes and announcements of new temples.

During the Sunday afternoon session of the 168th Annual General Conference, President Gordon B. Hinckley announced there would be 30 new smaller temples built throughout the world. With 51 functioning temples and 17 under construction, the announced 30 temples will bring the number to 98. Locations of the new temples will be forthcoming.

President Hinckley said, “If temple ordinances are an essential part of the restored gospel, and I testify that they are, then we must provide the means by which they can be accomplished. … The temple ordinances become the crowning blessings the Church has to offer.”

During the Saturday afternoon session, during the sustaining of the officers of the Church, the First Presidency announced that three men who have been serving in the Second Quorum of the Seventy since April 6, 1996, have been called to serve in the First Quorum of the Seventy. In addition, 13 new members were called to serve in the Second Quorum of the Seventy.

First Quorum of the Seventy

Elder Sheldon F. Child, serving as president of the Philippines/Micronesia Area, was formerly the president of a retail home furnishings company. He is married to Joan Haacke Child.

Sheldon F. Child

Sheldon F. Child

Elder Quentin L. Cook, serving as first counselor in the Philippines/Micronesia Area, was a lawyer and served as an executive officer in several health care systems. He is married to Mary Gaddie Cook.

Elder Francisco J. Viñas, serving as President of the South America North Area, was formerly an administrator of the Church Educational System in Spain and Uruguay. He is married to Cristina Gaminara Viñas.

Francisco J. Viñas

Francisco J. Viñas

Second Quorum of the Seventy

Athos M. Amorím

Athos M. Amorím Resende, Rio de Janiero, Brazil

E Ray Bateman

E Ray Bateman Taylorsville, Utah

Val R. Christensen

Val R. Christensen Logan, Utah

Ronald T. Halverson

Ronald T. Halverson Ogden, Utah

Earl M. Monson

Earl M. Monson Sandy, Utah

Merrill C. Oaks

Merrill C. Oaks Provo, Utah

H. Bryan Richards

H. Bryan Richards Salt Lake City, Utah

Ned B. Roueché

Ned B. Roueché Kaysville, Utah

D. Lee Tobler

D. Lee Tobler Marshallville, Ohio

Gordon T. Watts

Gordon T. Watts Roanoke, Texas

Stephen A. West

Stephen A. West Logan, Utah

Robert J. Whetten

Robert J. Whetten El Paso, Texas

Ray H. Wood

Ray H. Wood Salt Lake City, Utah