Chapter 1

Amos shows the Lord’s judgments upon Syria, the Philistines, Tyre, Edom, and Ammon.

Chapter 2

The Lord will pour out judgments upon Moab, Judah, and Israel for their unrighteousness.

Chapter 3

The Lord reveals His secrets unto His servants the prophets—Because Israel rejects the prophets and follows evil, the nation is overwhelmed by an adversary.

Chapter 4

The Lord withholds rain, sends famine and pestilence, and destroys gardens and vineyards as judgments upon His people, yet they do not return unto the Lord.

Chapter 5

The people of Israel are exhorted to seek the Lord and do good so that they may live—Their sacrifices to false gods are abhorrent.

Chapter 6

Woe to them who are at ease in Zion—Israel will be plagued with desolation.

Chapter 7

Amos relates how he was called of God to be a prophet—He prophesies the captivity of Israel.

Chapter 8

Amos prophesies the downfall of Israel—There will be a famine of hearing the word of the Lord.

Chapter 9

Israel will be sifted among all nations—In the last days, the people of Israel will be gathered again into their own land, and it will become productive.