The Book of Joshua


Chapter 1

The Lord speaks to Joshua—He is commanded to be of good courage, to meditate upon the law, and to keep the commandments—He prepares Israel to enter Canaan.

Chapter 2

Joshua sends spies to Jericho—They are received and concealed by Rahab—They promise to preserve Rahab and her household.

Chapter 3

Joshua leads Israel to the Jordan—The Lord cuts off the water of the Jordan; it stands up as a heap, and Israel passes over on dry ground.

Chapter 4

Joshua places twelve stones to commemorate the crossing of the Jordan—Joshua is magnified before the children of Israel as they cross the Jordan—After the priests bearing the ark pass over, the river returns to its course.

Chapter 5

The inhabitants of Canaan fear Israel—The males of Israel are circumcised—Israel keeps the Passover, eats the fruit of the land, and manna ceases—The captain of the Lord’s host appears to Joshua.

Chapter 6

Jericho is taken and destroyed—Only Rahab and her household are saved.

Chapter 7

Israel is defeated by the people of Ai—Joshua complains to the Lord—Achan and his household are destroyed because he disobeyed the Lord by taking the spoils of Jericho.

Chapter 8

Joshua uses an ambush, takes Ai, and slays its inhabitants—He builds an altar in Mount Ebal—The words of the law, both blessings and cursings, are read to the people.

Chapter 9

The Gibeonites by craft obtain a league with Israel—Joshua makes them servants to the congregation of Israel.

Chapter 10

Israel defeats the Amorites and their allies, and the Lord casts stones from heaven upon them—The sun and moon stand still—Many kings and cities are destroyed—The Lord fought for Israel.

Chapter 11

Joshua and Israel conquer the whole land, destroying many cities and nations.

Chapter 12

Two kings on the east of the Jordan and thirty-one on the west are conquered by Israel.

Chapter 13

There remain some lands yet to be possessed—Some inhabitants are not expelled—The inheritances of Reuben, Gad, and one half of Manasseh are confirmed.

Chapter 14

The land is divided by lot among 9½ tribes—Caleb inherits Hebron as a special reward for his faithfulness.

Chapter 15

Judah is given an inheritance in Canaan—The Jebusites dwell with Judah at Jerusalem.

Chapter 16

The children of Joseph (Ephraim and Manasseh) receive their inheritances—Some Canaanites continue to dwell among the Ephraimites.

Chapter 17

Manasseh and Ephraim both receive an additional inheritance—Ephraim is to drive out the Canaanites from the hill country.

Chapter 18

The tabernacle of the congregation is set up at Shiloh—Benjamin receives an inheritance by lot.

Chapter 19

Simeon, Zebulun, Issachar, Asher, Naphtali, and Dan receive their inheritances by lot.

Chapter 20

Six cities of refuge are appointed for those guilty of manslaughter.

Chapter 21

The Levites receive forty-eight cities with their suburbs—The Lord fulfills all His promises and gives Israel rest.

Chapter 22

The 2½ tribes are dismissed with a blessing—They build an altar of testimony by the Jordan to show they are the Lord’s people—It is not an altar for sacrifices or burnt offerings.

Chapter 23

Joshua exhorts Israel to be courageous, keep the commandments, love the Lord, and neither marry among nor cleave unto the remnants of the Canaanites who remain in the land—When the children of Israel serve other gods, they will be cursed and dispossessed.

Chapter 24

Joshua recites how the Lord has blessed and led Israel—Joshua and all the people covenant to choose the Lord and serve Him only—Joshua and Eleazar die—The bones of Joseph, taken from Egypt, are buried in Shechem.