The Third Book of Moses Called Leviticus


Chapter 1

Animals without blemish are sacrificed as an atonement for sins—Burnt offerings are a sweet savor unto the Lord.

Chapter 2

How offerings of flour with oil and incense are made.

Chapter 3

Peace offerings are made with animals without blemish, whose blood is sprinkled on the altar—Israel is forbidden to eat fat or blood.

Chapter 4

Sinners are forgiven through sin offerings of animals without blemish—Priests thereby make an atonement for the sins of the people.

Chapter 5

The people are to confess and make amends for their sins—Forgiveness comes through a trespass offering—Priests thereby make an atonement for sin.

Chapter 6

The people must first make restitution for sin, then offer a trespass offering, and thereby gain forgiveness through atonement made by the priests.

Chapter 7

Laws governing various sacrifices are listed—The children of Israel are forbidden to eat fat or blood—They worship by sacrifice—Through sacrifice they gain forgiveness, make vows, consecrate their property, render thanks, and are reconciled to God.

Chapter 8

Aaron and his sons are washed, anointed, clothed in their priesthood robes, and consecrated before all Israel—Moses and Aaron offer sacrifices to make reconciliation and atonement with the Lord.

Chapter 9

Aaron makes an atonement by sacrifice for himself and all Israel—He and his sons offer sacrifices—The glory of the Lord appears to all—Fire from the Lord consumes the offerings on the altar.

Chapter 10

Nadab and Abihu perform unauthorized sacrifices and are slain by a fire from the Lord—Aaron and his other sons are forbidden to mourn for them—Aaron and his sons are to abstain from wine and strong drink—They are to teach all that the Lord revealed to Moses.

Chapter 11

The Lord reveals which living things may and may not be eaten, and which things are clean and unclean—He commands Israel: Be holy, for I am holy.

Chapter 12

The Lord reveals the law of purification of women after childbirth, including a sin offering.

Chapter 13

Laws and tokens are revealed for discerning and controlling leprosy—Leprous garments are to be burnt.

Chapter 14

Laws, rites, and sacrifices are revealed for cleansing lepers, their garments, and leprous houses.

Chapter 15

Laws, rites, and sacrifices are revealed for cleansing those who have a discharge and other types of uncleanness.

Chapter 16

How and when Aaron must enter the holy place is explained—Sacrifices are offered to reconcile Israel to God—The scapegoat carries away the sins of the people—The sins of all Israel are forgiven on the Day of Atonement.

Chapter 17

Sacrifices are to be offered only to the Lord at the tabernacle of the congregation—Israel is forbidden to sacrifice to devils—All eating of blood is forbidden—Shedding of blood is required for an atonement for sins.

Chapter 18

Israel shall not live as the Egyptians and the Canaanites—Marriages to many close relatives and others are forbidden—Homosexual behavior and other sexual perversions are an abomination—The land expels those nations that practice sexual abominations.

Chapter 19

Israel is commanded: Be holy, live righteously, love your neighbor, and keep the commandments—The Lord reveals and reaffirms sundry laws and commandments—Enchantments, wizardry, prostitution, and all evil practices are forbidden.

Chapter 20

The death penalty is prescribed for sacrificing children to Molech, cursing father and mother, adultery, homosexual behavior, bestiality, spiritualism, and other abominations—Various laws and ordinances are listed.

Chapter 21

The priests are to be holy—The high priest is not to marry a widow, a divorced person, or a harlot—Descendants of Aaron with physical blemishes may not offer the bread of God upon the altar.

Chapter 22

Those of the priests and their families who may eat of the holy things are described—Sacrificial animals are to be perfect and without blemish.

Chapter 23

Israel is to hold a holy convocation on each weekly Sabbath—Israel is to keep the Feasts of the Passover, of Unleavened Bread, of Pentecost or Firstfruits, of Trumpets, of the Day of Atonement, and of Tabernacles.

Chapter 24

A perpetual fire is to burn outside the veil in the tabernacle—A blasphemer is put to death by stoning—Israel’s law is one of an eye for an eye and a tooth for a tooth.

Chapter 25

Each seventh year is to be kept as a sabbath year—Each fiftieth year is to be one of jubilee, in which liberty is proclaimed throughout the land—Laws are revealed for the sale and redemption of lands, houses, and servants—The land is the Lord’s, as are the servants—Usury is forbidden.

Chapter 26

Temporal and spiritual blessings will abound in Israel if the people keep the commandments—Cursing, scourging, and desolation will be theirs if they disobey the Lord—When His people repent, the Lord will show mercy unto them.

Chapter 27

How properties are consecrated unto the Lord is explained—Israel is commanded to pay tithes of their crops, flocks, and herds.